Governing Body

As well as being a Registered Charity (No. 1079754), the Ursuline Preparatory School is also a Company Limited by Guarantee and as such is managed by a Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees meet termly and oversee the school's governing body. Mr Tom Bolland, as Chair of the Trustee body, has been delegated the role of Proprietor of the Ursuline Preparatory School by the Ursuline Order.

The school's governing body has eleven Members, who volunteer their time and professional skills to ensure that the school operates efficiently. They are responsible for the long term strategy and future development of the school and meet regularly to discuss school development matters and offer support to the school’s headmistress and senior management team. The Headmaster, Mr Chris McGrath, is a member of the Governing Body and Mr Francis Bacon is the Chair of the Board of Governors. They may be contacted through the Headmaster's Office.


Mr Francis Bacon – Chair of Governors (Jan 2010)

Francis Bacon is a Barrister in private practice. He specialises in professional negligence and was appointed a Recorder in 2003. He is married with 3 children all of whom were educated at the Wimbledon Ursuline Prep School. He lives in Wimbledon village and is a member of the Parish of the Sacred Heart.

He was appointed a Foundation Governor in 2008 and has been the Chair of Governors since January 2010.

Tracey Townsend – Foundation Governor (Sept 2012)

Tracey was elected initially to the post of Parent Governor and took up this role in September 2010. She has three children who are past pupils of the Ursuline Preparatory School. She was previously Chair of the Parents Association in 2007/2008. She was a solicitor at the law firm, Trowers & Hamlins LLP in the City of London.

Sister Catherine Kelly – Foundation Governor (Nov 2004)

A member of the Ursuline Order, Sister Catherine was a teacher for 41 years, teaching across the age groups from Reception to 'A’ level. She spent ten years as a deputy headteacher in an East London Comprehensive School for girls, ten years as deputy headteacher in an Independent boarding school, seven of which were ‘all girls’ before the school became co-educational. Her final ten years in the teaching profession were as Headteacher of an Independent, Co-educational Preparatory School.

She has been a school governor for over 15 years in both a comprehensive School and a Preparatory School, and in her retirement has trained and now practises as a Podiatrist.

Aidan Brady – Foundation Governor (Oct 2010)

Aidan is a qualified Chartered Accountant, with 30 years experience in financial services and professional practice. He knows the Ursuline Preparatory School and its ethos well, as his three children have all been pupils of the school. Aidan joined the Board of Governors in 2010 and now Chairs the Finance and Buildings Committees.

Margaret Monaghan - Governor (Sept 2015)

Mrs Monaghan has two girls - both currently at the Ursuline Prep. She has been involved in the Parents Association for many years and was Co-Chair in 2012/2013. At present she is taking a career break due to family commitments.

Yvonne Symcox - Governor (Sept 2015)

Yvonne has recently retired from a post as Deputy Head Teacher of the Ursuline High School, after a 39 year career in teaching both in the UK and abroad. Her specialist areas are pastoral care and Safeguarding children.


Governors' Meetings

Full Governors' Meetings are held termly. However, Sub-Committees may meet more frequently.